Welcome!
|
||
Logout|My Dashboard

About Us - Mesabi Daily News: Site

About Us

Chris Knight is the General Manager/Advertising Director of the Mesabi Daily News. A Virginia, Minn., native, he attended Mesabi Community College and the University of Minnesota-Duluth, where he majored in Business Administration. His advertising career began as an Account Manager for Manney's Shopper in Virginia. He began working for Skoglund Outdoor Advertising in 1986, where he sold and managed billboard markets on the Iron Range, Duluth/Superior and the St. Cloud/Brainerd regions. Knight came to the Mesabi Daily News as Advertising Director in 1995 and was named General Manager in March of 2006. Knight is a member of the Virginia Rotary Club, the Northern Club and the YMCA.

He resides in Virginia with his wife, Marci.

Chris Knight

Regional Operations/General Manager

Advertising Director

cknight@mesabidailynews.net

Bill Hanna is the Executive Editor of the Mesabi Daily News. Born and raised in the Northeast Minneapolis neighborhood, he attended the University of Minnesota, majoring in journalism. His first newspaper job out of college in September 1974 was at the Mitchell Daily Republic in Mitchell, S.D. He later worked in reporting and editing roles at daily newspapers in Fairmont, Minn., Monroe, Wis., Las Cruces, N.M., and El Paso, Texas, along with two years for the Associated Press, covering the State Legislature in South Dakota. He joined the Mesabi Daily News in July 1985 as managing editor. Hanna, for several years, was a journalism instructor at Mesabi Community College in Virginia. He has won dozens of state and national newspaper awards, and the MDN news staff collectively and individually garners consistent honors in state and national newspaper contests each year, several hundred overall in the 26 years Hanna has been at the MDN.

Hanna currently serves on the Minnesota Associated Press Board of Editors. He was president of the board in 1993, 1994, 2007 and 2008. He was a founding member of the first Respite Care Board in Virginia and also served on a school committee in the late-1990s that successfully steered a new physical education/gymnasium project to completion for the Virginia School District.

He has a son, Brandon and a daughter, Nicole. He is a grandfather of triplet girls born in October 2006 to Brandon and daughter-in-law, Jodi.

 

Bill Hanna

Executive Editor

bhanna@mesabidailynews.net

The Mesabi Daily News staff:

NEWS

Bill Hanna (Editor)

bhanna@mesabidailynews.net

Linda Tyssen (Reporter)  

ltyssen@mesabidailynews.net

Angie Riebe (Reporter)  

ariebe@mesabidailynews.net

Mark Sauer (Photographer)  

msauer@mesabidailynews.net

Jim Romsaas (Sports Editor)  

jromsaas@mesabidailynews.net

Scott Gerdes (Sports Reporter)  

sgerdes@mesabidailynews.net

Greg Schulzetenberg

gschulzetenberg@mesabidailynews.net

Debbie Conaway (Page Designer)  

dconaway@mesabidailynews.net

 

ADVERTISING

Alison Stanaway

astanaway@mesabidailynews.net

Donna Pettinelli

dpettinelli@mesabidailynews.net

Andi Ringsred

aringsred@mesabidailynews.net

Kelly Laugen  (Classifieds)

klaugen@mesabidailynews.net

 

CIRCULATION  

Vince Cleveland

vcleveland@mesabidailynews.net

Follow Us

Find us on Facebook

Online poll

MINE e-Edition

Mine VII

Updated: 10:28 pm | See more

Today's Special Sections